Pages Navigation Menu

MMA News. Fight Results. Videos. Interviews.

UFC Fight Night Hidalgo Results: Poirier vs. Johnson

UFC Fight Night Hidalgo Results:  Poirier vs. Johnson

UFC Fight Night Hidalgo, which was headlined by the lightweight clash between Dustin Poirier vs Michael Johnson, and the middleweight fight between Uriah Hall and Derek Brunson, aired live on FS1 from State Farm Arena in Hidalgo, Texas on Saturday, September 17 at 10pm ET / 7pm PT.

Four prelim bouts aired live on FS1 at 8pm ET / 5pm PT, and the event’s first two prelims aired exclusively on UFC FIGHT PASS beginning at 7pm ET / 4pm PT.

The main two fights were extremely impressive, both ending within the first round via TKO or KO.  In the main event Michael Johnson put Dustin Poirier to sleep within seconds while in the co-main, Derek Brunson put Uriah Hall down despite boos from the crowd who believed it was an early stoppage.

Chas Skelly set a UFC and WEC record, scoring the fastest submission victory in the organization’s featherweight history, defeating Maximo Blanco via D’arce choke in just 19 seconds.

FS1 Main Card – 10pm ET/7pm PT on FS1
Michael Johnson defeated Dustin Poirier via KO – Round 1, 1:35
Derek Brunson defeated Uriah Hall via TKO – Round 1, 1:41
Evan Dunham defeated Rick Glenn via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Roan Carneiro defeated Kenny Robertson via split decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)
Islam Makhachev defeated Chris Wade via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Chas Skelly defeated Maximo Blanco defeated via submission (D’arce choke) – Round 1, 0:19

FS1 Prelims – 8pm ET/5pm PT on FS1
Gabriel Benitez defeated Sam Sicilia via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 2, 1:20
Belal Muhammad defeated Augusto Montano via TKO – Round 3, 4:19
Antonio Carlos Junior defeated Leonardo Augusto Leleco via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 3, 4:46
Jose Quinonez defeated Joey Gomez via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

UFC FIGHT PASS Prelims – 7pm ET/4pm PT on UFC FIGHT PASS
Randy Brown defeated Erick Montano via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 3, 0:18
Alejandro Perez vs Albert Morales declared majority draw (29-27 Morales, 28-28, 28-28)

The following two tabs change content below.
Eric Kowal

Eric Kowal

Owner/Editor/Journalist at MyMMANews
Founder of MyMMANews.com - After writing for Ultimate MMA magazine and serving as the editor for U.S. Combat Sports, both of which went on hiatus, I decided to venture out on my own and enlist a staff of writers and photographers that could help me achieve my goal of telling stories that would otherwise go untold. We pride ourselves in taking a deeper look into the fighter, and understanding what makes them click. - #1 Dad, Marine Corps Veteran, 80's and 90's Pro Wrestling Fan, MMA Commentator, Beer Lover, and avid movie watcher. Seriously..... I watch a lot of movies.