California Car Accident Laws: 5 Important Things to Know

California Car Accident Laws: 5 Important Things to Know

Did you realize that under the law of California, when you are involved in a car accident, you have the right to seek damages for your injuries? Before driving in California, we urge you to understand the laws when it comes to the roads.

When you are involved in a car accident, you must find a lawyer that specializes in California car accident laws. Here are the top 5 things that you need to understand about the car accident laws in California.

1. More Than One Party Can Be At Fault

In California, the law states that more than one party involved in a car accident can be at fault. The reason for these laws is to ensure that when someone has been injured by a car accident, they can be awarded damages to help cover medical bills and therapy.

For example, if someone is on the phone while driving and they aren’t paying attention to the drivers around them. They may not notice that the driver in another lane has changed lanes without signaling first and hit the car. In this instance, both drivers are at fault.

And both drivers have played a role in causing the car accident.

2. Report Your Crash to the DMV

When an accident occurs, and the damages exceed a certain amount, or someone has been injured. The accident must be reported to the department of motor vehicles. Even if you aren’t at fault for the accident, you must fill out an SR-1 form.

The information that you need to fill out the form are as follows:

• When the accident occurred
• Where the accident occurred
• Everyone involved in the accident
• Insurance information for all parties involved in the accident
• A detailed description of injuries and damages

3. California Car Accident Laws: Understand Time Limits

An SR-1 form needs to be filed with the DMV within 10 days of the car accident. You should also report the car accident to your insurance company as soon as it happens. Reporting a car accident and filing a case for the damages caused by the accident is not the same thing.

To file a personal injury claim, the statute of limitations is 2 years from the original date of the injury.

4. Economic and Non-Economic Damages

If you’ve been injured in a car accident and have been forced to take time off from work, you have rights. Damages in a car accident fall under 2 different categories. The first is economic damages, and the second is non-economic damages.

Discussing both types of damages with your attorney will help to define what you can sue for in court. Some of the things that you’re able to sue for are:

• Loss of earnings
• Car repair costs
• Medical bills
• Suffering caused by pain

5. Hiring an Attorney Is The Best Idea

When you’re seeking compensation for damages as a result of a car accident, you must hire an attorney. There may be a local lawyer that specializes in cases that resemble yours.

You’ll have better results in your case if you hire a lawyer beforehand.

Have You Been in a Car Accident?

California car accident laws are in place to protect everyone that has been involved in a car accident and may have been injured. We have given you the top 5 things that you need to know when it comes to the laws.

If you need any more information when it comes to anything legal, we have posts that can provide you with more insight on our blog.

You can check more relevant information at servetheinjured.com
If you have questions and doubts after a car accident happens. An expert lawyer can clear all your confusion, guide you with the legal options and provide direct information on how to proceed with your claim.

Do Not Sell My Personal Information