Charlie Ward vs Fabian Edwards Added to Bellator 270 Main Card

Charlie Ward vs Fabian Edwards Added to Bellator 270 Main Card

A middleweight showdown between #4 Fabian Edwards (9-2) and #6 Charlie Ward (9-4) has been added to the upcoming Bellator 270: Queally vs Pitbull 2 main card. The late addition to the Irish event that takes place on Friday 5th November in 3Arena, Dublin, was noted in a Bellator press release sent this afternoon.

Image credit: Bellator MMA / Lucas Noonan

SBG Tullamore’s Charlie Ward has looked rejuvenated in recent years. The 40-year-old Laois native is 6-1 since debuting under the Bellator promotional banner in 2017, with 5 KO finishes to boot. While Ward is well known for his hard-hitting style, he has shown a much improved and well-rounded repertoire in his last two victories over Kyle Kurtz and Andy Manzolo. Originally scheduled to face Norbert Novenyi Jr., before the London Shootfighters prospect was forced to withdraw due to injury, Ward now faces the toughest test in his Bellator career as he takes on Fabian Edwards. This is a massive opportunity for the Irishman to propel himself towards middleweight title contention.

Since his amateur MMA days, Team Renegade’s Fabian Edwards has long been touted as one of the bright prospects coming out of the UK. The younger brother of UFC welterweight contender Leon, Edwards got off to a blistering start in his career, stringing together an undefeated 10-fight amateur career before racing to another undefeated 9-0 record on the pro scene. However, the 28-year-old Birmingham native hit a slump in 2020, losing back-to-back decisions against Costello Van Steenis and Austin Vanderford. Facing a dangerous fighter in number 6-ranked Charlie Ward, this is a real fork in the road fight for “The Assassin”. A win would put him back in the mix in the upper echelon of the division, but a third consecutive loss could be disastrous for the former prospect’s career. 

Full fight card and broadcast details can be found below.

 

BELLATOR MMA 270: Queally vs. Pitbull 2 Main Card:

SHOWTIME (US) / BBC iPlayer (UK) / Virgin Media Two & Virgin Media Sport (IRELAND)

Friday, Nov. 5 – 9 p.m. GMT/5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT

Lightweight World Title Main Event: #4-Peter Queally (13-5-1) vs. #1-Patricky “Pitbull” (23-10) 

Bantamweight Co-Main Event: #6-James Gallagher (11-1) vs. #2-Patrick Mix (14-1)

Middleweight Bout: #4-Fabian Edwards (9-2) vs. #6-Charlie Ward (9-4)

Featherweight Bout: #6-Daniel Weichel (41-6) vs. #7-Pedro Carvalho (11-5)

 

Preliminary Card:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel | Pluto TV (US)

BBC iPlayer (UK) | Virgin Media Two & Virgin Media Sport (IRELAND)

6 p.m. GMT/2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT

 

Featherweight Bout: Ciaran Clarke (3-0) vs. Jordan Barton (6-1-1)

Featherweight Bout: Ilias Bulaid (2-0) vs. Georges Sasu (5-2)

Welterweight Bout: Ashley Reece (8-2) vs. Luca Poclit (6-1) 

Lightweight Bout: Daniele Scatizzi (10-5) vs. Brian Hooi (16-8, 1 NC)

Light Heavyweight Bout: Lee Chadwick (26-15-1) vs. Arunas Andriuskevicus (15-4)

Welterweight Bout: Nicolò Solli (3-1) vs. Bobby Pallett (5-0)

Strawweight Bout: Danni Neilan (4-0) vs. Audrey Kerouche (7-5, 2 NC)

Featherweight Bout: Junior Morgan (3-0) vs. Darragh Kelly (Pro Debut)

Welterweight Bout: Stephen Costello (Pro Debut) vs. Joe Nazokatov (Pro Debut)

Heavyweight Bout: Gokhan Saricam (5-1) vs. Charlie Milner (7-1)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information