Dione Barbosa

Dione Barbosa discusses her LFA 148 win and plans for 2023

Dione Barbosa had some frustrations in 2022, but despite some difficult moments in the year, she was able to end it on a very high note.

Late in 2021, Barbosa suffered the second straight loss of her young MMA career and she couldn’t wait to get back into the win column in 2022.

Well as things turned out, she had to wait until the last month of the year to do so.

Barbosa, who is under contract with LFA, saw one fight get canceled in July and outside of that fight, not ever materialized.

Finally last week at LFA 148, Barbosa finally got to fight and she really showed her potential in the sport as she cruised to a unanimous decision win over Mariana Piccolo.

Now after getting back into the win, Barbosa will look to ride the momentum into 2023 where she wants to fight three or four times in the new year.

Barbosa has the makings of a great fighter and is a prospect to watch in 2023.

Before turning to MMA, Barbosa represented Brazil in the Olympics in the sport of judo.

Once she decided to move on from judo, she joined forces with fellow Brazilian and MMA legend Cris Cyborg.

Since coming to America, Barbosa has been working on her striking and she believes she is starting to get a hang of the standup.

As she continues to improve with the strikes, she is also still a world class grappler and she cannot wait for next opportunity in LFA.

Following her win at LFA 148, Barbosa spoke with MyMMANews to discuss her win, her plans for 2023 and being friends and teammates with Cyborg, who is currently the Bellator featherweight champion.

You can watch her full interview in the video above.

A full list of results from LFA 148 are listed below:

Chris Brown defeats Alfonso Leyva via KO (Body Kick) at 3:02 of Round 1

Canaan Kawaihae defeats Danny Silva via Majority Decision (28-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Richie Miranda defeats James Wilson via Split Decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)

Dione Barbosa defeats Mariana Piccolo via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Cody Davis defeats Alvaro Prado vis Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 2:53 of Round 1

Ernesto Rodriguez defeats Jeffrey Craig via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Eduardo Penha defeats Joseph Dorado via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

David Secaida defeats Qudratullah Babakar Khil via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-28)

author avatar
John Eric Poli