UFC Fight Night 61 results - Mir KO's Bigfoot

UFC Fight Night 61 results – Mir KO’s Bigfoot

UFC Fight Night 61 results – Mir KO’s Bigfoot

UFC Fight Night 61 was held at the Gigantinho Gymnasium in Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, Feb. 22.  The event, a rarity from the start as it was held on a Sunday night, not the typical standard of the UFC’s Saturday schedule, was headlined by a heavyweight bout between former UFC heavyweight champion Frank Mir and Antonio ‘Bigfoot’ Silva.

The other rarity was that nine underdogs won their bouts in the evening’s eleven fights.

After falling ill Saturday morning, welterweight TJ Waldburger was removed from his UFC Fight Night bout against Wendell Oliveira.  Gibson vs. Silva was moved up from the Fight Pass replims.

The card proceeded with 11 bouts, and both Waldburger and Oliveira will receive their show money.

Michael Johnson competed in the co-main event against Edson Barboza. Johnson had not competed since the spring of 2014 after he was ineligible to compete in the UFC organization following his arrest regarding a domestic dispute in Palm Beach County, Florida in April 2014. Given that the allegations against Johnson constituted a potential violation of the UFC Fighter Conduct Policy, the UFC organization temporarily barred Johnson from competition pending the completion of a third-party investigation. Following a thorough review and investigation—including personal interviews with Johnson and independent confirmation that he has satisfied all obligations required by the UFC—Johnson was once again eligible to compete.

Below are the full UFC Fight Night 61 results:

Main Card (FOX Sports 1, 8 p.m. ET)
Frank Mir defeated Antonio Silva via KO (punch) Round 1, 1:40
Michael Johnson defeated Edson Barboza via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Sam Alvey defeated Cezar Ferreira via KO (punch), Round 1, 3:34
Adriano Martins defeated Rustam Khabilov via split decisoin(29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Frankie Saenz defeated Iuri Alcantara via decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Santiago Ponzinibbio defeated Sean Strickland via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Prelim Card (FOX Sports 1, 6 p.m. ET)
Marion Reneau defeated Jessica Andrade via submission (triangle choke) – Round 1, 1:54
Matt Dwyer defeated William Macario via knockout (punches), Round 1, 3:14
Mike De La Torre defeated Tiago Trator via TKO (punches), Round 1, 2:59
Douglas Silva defeated Cody Gibson via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)

Prelim Card (UFC Fight Pass, 5:30 p.m. ET)
Ivan Jorge defeated Josh Shockley unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information