bellator 221

Bellator 221: Chandler vs Pitbull Results

Bellator 221 took place on Saturday, May 11 and was headlined by Bellator MMA lightweight champion Michael Chandler who was looking to defend his title against featherweight champion Patricio Pitbull. Pitbull looked to become the second fighter in Bellator history to hold two titles in two separate weight classes.

In the co-main event of Bellator 221, Michael Venom Page took on former champion Douglas Lima in the Welterweight World Grand Prix semi-finals. The previously undefeated Page was coming off a win over Paul Daley at Bellator 216 in February and looked to extend his professional winning streak to 15 if victorious on the evening.

Douglas Lima was looking to get back to the welterweight title he has held twice before, and is most recently coming off a victory over Andrey Koreshkov at Bellator 206 last September. The winner of the co-main event would advance to face the winner of Rory MacDonald vs Neiman Gracie at Bellator 222 which takes place on June 14, at Madison Square Garden.

In spectacular fashion, Lima handed the surging MVP his first professional loss.

Also featured on the main card is former WWE world champion Jake Hager (formerly known as Jack Swagger) as he takes on T.J. Jones, which is Hager’s second professional fight.

Complete Bellator 221 results below:

Main card:

Patricio Pitbull def. Michael Chandler by knockout (punches), Round 1, 1:01

Douglas Lima def. Michael “Venom” Page by knockout, Round 2, 0:35

A.J. McKee def. Pat Curran by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Jake Hager def. TJ Jones by submission (arm-triangle), Round 1, 2:36

Tywan Claxton def. James Bennett by TKO (unanswered strikes), Round 3, 2:09

Preliminary card:

Rob Fenicle def Bryan Bautista by submission (heel hook), Round 1, 1:42

Amartuvshin Khuukhenkhuu def. Adam Ward by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Christian Rodriguez def. Jose Leon by submission (armbar), Round 1, 4:35

Rob Morrow def. James Bochnovic by knockout, Round 1, 1:18

Chris Gonzalez def. Charlie Radtke by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Cris Lencioni def. Adil Benjilany by submission (triangle choke), Round 1, 4:55

Dave Latoria vs Jason Belyew end in no-contest after Belyew could not continue after taking a low blow.

Jesse Bazzi def. Joey Diehl by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Josh Streacker def Scott Writz by knockout, Round 2, 2:33

Do Not Sell My Personal Information