MMA Shark, The MMA Shark,
Ronda Rousey wins WWE title

Ronda Rousey wins WWE title, first woman to hold UFC and pro wrestling gold

Ronda Rousey wins WWE title

Ronda Rousey made history Sunday night as she became the first woman to have captured both UFC and WWE championship gold.  The former UFC women’s bantamweight champ defeated Alexa Bliss in the co-main event of the WWE SummerSlam pay-per-view in Brooklyn, New York, August 19 by way of submission.

Ronda makes Alexa Bliss Tap out. #SummerSlam #RondaRousey #AlexaBliss

No Description

Rousey began her pro wrestling career just seven months ago and has been placed mainly in tag-team matches, with last night’s title bout just the second time she has faced a competitor one-on-one on pay-per-view.

Following the victory, Rousey was joined by husband Travis Browne, and wrestlers, the Bella Twins, and Natalya.

With the win, Rousey becomes the sixth Raw women’s champion in history, joining Charlotte Flair, Sasha Banks, Bayley, Jax and Bliss.

It is expected that Rousey will be part of the WWE’s first all-women’s pay-per-view, Evolution, on October 28.

Rousey was inducted into the UFC Hall of Fame on July 6.

Another former UFC champion, Brock Lesnar headlined the WWE event, but would end up losing his WWE Universal title to Roman Reigns. This was Reigns’s third championship match against Lesnar this year.

SummerSlam results:

Andrade “Cien” Almas and Zelina Vega defeated Rusev and Lana
Cruiserweight championship: Cedric Alexander (c) defeated Drew Gulak
Raw tag team championship: The B-Team (Curtis Axel and Bo Dallas) (c) defeated The Revival (Scott Dawson and Dash Wilder)
Intercontinental championship: Seth Rollins defeated Dolph Ziggler (c)
SmackDown tag team championship: The New Day defeated The Bludgeon Brothers (c) via DQ
Braun Strowman defeated Kevin Owens
SmackDown women’s championship: Charlotte Flair defeated Carmella (c) and Becky Lynch
WWE championship: Samoa Joe defeated AJ Styles (c) via DQ
The Miz defeated Daniel Bryan
United States championship: Shinsuke Nakamura (c) defeated Jeff Hardy
Raw women’s championship: Ronda Rousey defeated Alexa Bliss (c)
Universal championship: Roman Reigns defeated Brock Lesnar (c)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information