Titan FC 44 Results: Sharipov vs. Torres - Will History Be Made Tonight in Florida?

Titan FC 44 Results: Sharipov vs. Torres – Champion vs. Champion

For the first time in Titan FC history, one fighter looked to hold two titles in two different weight classes concurrently, as flyweight champion Jose Torres took on bantamweight champion Farkhad Sharipov in the main event of tonight’s Titan FC 44.

The event took place on May 19 from the Pembroke Pines City Center and will air live and exclusively on UFC Fight Pass.

Sharipov was part of a four man bantamweight tournament that began at Titan FC 40 in August 2016. He defeated Bruce Lutchmedial via split decision and went on to face Andrew Whitney in the finals at Titan FC 42, where captured the title via unanimous decision. Torres, one of MMA’s top prospects, won the title via second round KO over Abdiel Velasquez at Titan FC 40. He then defeated UFC veteran Pedro Nobre via first round TKO at Titan FC 43.

What an exciting fight this was tonight.  Torres was in trouble early on but weathered the storm and came back to win the unanimous decision.

In an exciting match-up of former Titan FC champions, Kurt Holobaugh faced Gesias “JZ” Cavalcante in a battle for the Titan FC interim lightweight championship. Holobaugh, a former featherweight champion made the move up to 155 after dropping the title to Andre Harrison. He returned at Titan FC 39 and has since defeated Luciano dos Santos and Yosdenis Cedeno. Cavalcante captured the lightweight belt with a first round KO over Pat Healy at Titan FC 39, but subsequently lost it to Fredy Assuncao at Titan FC 40. He rebounded at Titan FC 42 with a unanimous decision victory over Robert Turnquest.

Desmond ‘M80’ Moore took the call for a short notice fight and will take on Gustavo Balart.

Complete Titan FC 44 results below:

Titan FC flyweight champ Jose Torres defeated Titan FC bantamweight champ Farkhad Sharipov via unanimous decision  (48-47, 49-46, 48-47)– for bantamweight title
Kurt Holobaugh defeated Gesias Cavalcante via TKO (referee stoppage) – Round 4, 2:45 – for interim lightweight title
Marc Stevens defeated Robert Turnquest via TKO – Round 3, 1:40
Michael Cora defeated Will Starks via KO – Round 1, 2:11
Jorge Calvo defeated Bruno Mesquita via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Gleidson DeJesus defeated Edir Terry via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Gustavo Balart defeated Desmond Moore via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)
Mike Lombardo defeated Lorenzo Hunt via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-27)
Demarques Jackson defeated Paulo Silva via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 2:09
Dan Ige defeated Ronildo Augusto Braga via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information