UFC 174 Results – Lackluster card frustrates many

UFC 174 Results – Lackluster card frustrates many

If you are like many casual mixed martial arts fans you are shelling out $50 or more per pay-per-view card, once and sometimes even twice a month.  The card may appear decent on paper but what you get might not be what you expect as is the case with last night’s UFC 174.

All of the fights on the pay-per-view portion went to a decision (minus the opening bout which resulted in injury).  Flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson made his fifth title defense outpointing Ali Bagautinov.

In the co-main event, Rory MacDonald solidified his name as a possible contender for the title by outworking Tyron Woodley.

The ‘Pitbull’ Andrew Arlovski returned to the UFC after a six-year absence from the octagon.  Arlovski bruised up Schaub’s face pretty good and earned the decision win, but still earned the boos from the crowd as the decision may have been awarded to the fighter who did the more damage with fewer punches, not necessarily the fighter who controlled the fight.

All in all the pay-per-view portion was lackluster and all the ‘Of the Night’ Performance checks were handed out to fighters on the preliminary cards.

Kiichi Kunimoto earned an award with his first round submission of Daniel Sarafian, earning him $50,000.  Tae Hyun Bang was the big winner, taking home $100,000 on top of his scheduled paycheck after earning the Performance of the Night and Fight of the Night awards after knocking out Kajan Johnson in the third round.

Social media was full of references to the discontent for the showing, but that is the price you pay when you gamble.

Full UFC 174 results below.

Main Card (Live on PPV, 10:00 PM ET)
-Demetrious Johnson defeated Ali Bagautinov by Unanimous Decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45)
-Rory MacDonald defeated Tyron Woodley by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
-Ryan Bader defeated Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
-Andrei Arlovski defeated Brendan Schaub by Split Decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
-Ovince Saint Preux defeated Ryan Jimmo by TKO (Verbal Tapout, Round 2, 2:10)

Preliminary Bouts (Live on FX, 8:00 PM ET)
-Kiichi Kunimoto defeated Daniel Sarafian by Submission (RNC, Round 1, 2:52)
-Valerie Letourneau defeated Elizabeth Phillips by Split Decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
-Yves Jabouin defeated Mike Easton by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
-Tae Hyun Bang defeated Kajan Johnson by KO (Punch, Round 3, 2:01)

Preliminary Bouts (Live on UFC Fight Pass, 7:00 PM ET)
-Michinori Tanaka defeated Roland Delorme by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
-Jason Saggo defeated Josh Shockley by TKO (Punches, Round 1, 4:57)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information