After big wins at Titan FC 54, Herbert Burns and Rafael Alves earn spots on Contender Series

Dana White’s Contender Series: Season 7, Week 5 Results

Dana White’s Contender Series rolls on with the shows seventh season as this week marks the fifth episode of the current season.

The fifth week has historically produced great talent as Jamahal Hill, Maycee Barber, Alex Perez, Cameron Saaiman and Denise Gomes all got their UFC careers started by posting wins on week five of the show.

So far this season, 16 fighters have been selected for a UFC contract by UFC president Dana White and tonight, five more winners will hope to hear their name called.

In tonight’s main event, Brazilians Bruno Lopes and Brendson Ribeiro face off in the second light heavyweight matchup of the year.

Lopes is unbeaten in his professional career and in his last fight, he won the vacant LFA light heavyweight title. He also holds a win over current UFC fighter Gregory Rodrigues.

Meanwhile, the 27-year-old Ribeiro has earned consecutive first-round stoppage victories and wins in five of his last seven. Ribeiro is known for finishing fights as only one of his 19 pro fights have gone the distance.

Another great match comes between featherweights when Brazil’s Jean Silva squares off with Argentina’s Kevin Vallejos. 

Silva carries a 10-2 record and seven-fight winning streak into competition this week. He has never gone the distance in professional career.

Vallejos is only 21-years-old but is already 11-0 as a professional and is coming off a second-round stoppage win over UFC vet Eduardo Garagorri.

One other noteworthy fighter to keep an eye on is Dione Barbosa, who is a former olympian and is a training partner of MMA legend Cris Cyborg. Barbosa is taking her fight with Rain Guerrero on short notice.

Tonight’s fights will take place from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and can be streamed on ESPN+ starting at 8 p.m. ET.

A full list of results from Dana White’s Contender Series: Season 7, Week 5 are listed below:

Brendson Ribeiro defeated Bruno Lopes by knockout (punch) – Round 1 (1:12)

Serhiy Sidey defeated Ramon Tavares by knockout (punch) – Round 1 (2:26)

Dylan Budka defeated Chad Hanekom by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Jean Silva defeated Kevin Vallejos by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Dione Barbosa defeated Rainn Guerrero by submission (armbar) – Round 1 (4:35)

*Bold names received a UFC contract 

Do Not Sell My Personal Information