Stellar Fights 49 results: Mullens retains bantamweight title via 3rd round TKO

Stellar Fights 49 results: Mullens retains bantamweight title via 3rd round TKO

On Saturday, April 2, Stellar Fights 49 returned to the Exhibition Hall at the Delaware State Fairgrounds for an action-packed evening of fights. 
In a sold-out arena and eight out of twelve bouts being stopped before the scheduled time, Stellar Fights fans surely got their fill of action for the evening.
The bantamweight title was up for grabs as reigning champion, James “Bubba” Mullens to on the gritty, Wesley Russum in the main event of the evening.
For the first two rounds, Russum controlled the bout, utilizing his grappling to his advantage and dictating where he wanted the action. Both fighters landed their share of damage on the feet but Russum’s wrestling was evident and pushed him ahead on the scorecards early.
In the third round, Mullens flipped the switch and moved in a vengeance. With precision-like striking, Mullens wobbled Russum and didn’t let his foot off of the gas until the job was done. In what many would consider “Fight of the night,” Mullens and Russum showed the heart and talent of professionals in an amateur title bout.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Daniel “Gumby” Nelson (@technical_fury)

In the co-main event of the evening, Nick Mancini took Jaykob Smith in a lightweight affair. Both fighters eager to engage, Mancini’s dominant grappling was the difference in this contest. Smith, known for his durability and tenacity amidst a scrap did what he could to escape harm’s way. In the end, Mancini was the better man on the evening, stopping the bout in under 3 minutes.
Stellar Fights 49 can be rebroadcasted only on at and returns to Harrington on Saturday, June 25 to present celebrate a historical mile-marker in Stellar Fights 50
Main Event
James “Bubba” Mullens def. Wesley Russum via third-round TKO (1:20)
Retains Stellar Fights bantamweight title.
Co-Main event
Nick Mancini def. Jaykob Smith via first-round TKO (2:58)
Angelo Leven def. Eric Urgiles via Unanimous decision.
Deon Jackson def. Joey Howell via first-round submission (2:30; rear-naked choke)
(Glory Rules bout) Destin Richardson def. Fahad Zafar via Unanimous decision
Renato Deazevedo def. Jon Lopez via first round TKO (1:44)
Pete Mattocia def. Anthony Barrientos via third-round submission (triangle choke)
Kevin Harvell def. Terrell Brittingham via TKO (2:43)
Joseph Ferguson def. William Brown via Majority decision
Scott Suiter def. Labreece Lee via second-round TKO (1:01)
John Dixon def. Alfonse Rhodes via second round TKO. (1:59)
Jamal Tuppince def. David Coates via Unanimous decision.

Do Not Sell My Personal Information