You are here
UFC 185 results – New champions are crowned Event Results MMA News 

UFC 185 results – New champions are crowned

UFC 185 results – New champions are crowned

UFC 185 takes place tonight, March 14, at the American Airlines Arena in Dallas, Texas and features two title bouts on the 12 fight card.

In the main event, UFC lightweight champion Anthony “Showtime” Pettis defended his belt against Rafael Dos Anjos while in the co-main event, inaugural UFC women’s strawweight champ, Carla Esparza defended her 115-pound title for the first time against challenger, Joanna Jedrzecjczyk.

Pettis would have the toughest fight of his career as Dos Anjos absolutely put on a clinic and completely dominated the champion for five full rounds.

Unfortunately for Esparza, her wrestling was not enough for the striking prowess of the new champion in Jedrzecjczyk who is the third European champion in UFC history.

Also on the card, former UFC welterweight champion, Johny Hendricks bounced back into title contention with a dominant win over Matt Brown.  Hendricks used his wrestling to decisively win three rounds over Brown, forcing Brown to drop two straight.

Heavyweights Roy Nelson and Alistair Overeem stood toe-to-toe and it might have been Overeem’s best performance since coming to the UFC.  He attacked Nelson’s body more than any heavyweight has and ‘Big Country’ was left with the bumps and bruises to prove it.  In the end, Overeem would win a unanimous decision, ensuring he has another shot back in the largest mixed martial arts promotion in the world.

In the opening the pay-per-view portion of the card flyweights Chris Cariaso and Olympic gold medalist Henry Cejudo would go to a decision with the Olympian winning.

Main Card (Live on PPV, 10:00 PM)
Rafael Dos Anjos defeated Anthony Pettis – for lightweight title (50-45, 50-45, 50-45)
Joanna Jedrzejczyk defeated Carla Esparza via TKO (Round 2, 4:17) – for strawweight title
Johny Hendricks defeated Matt Brown via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Alistair Overeem defeated Roy Nelson via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Henry Cejudo defeated Chris Cariaso via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Preliminary Card (Live on FX, 8:00 PM ET)
Ross Pearson defeated Sam Stout by KO (Round 2, 1:33)
Elias Theodorou defeated Roger Narvaez via TKO (Round 2, 4:07)
Beneil Dariush defeated Daron Cruickshank via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke, Round 2, 2:48)
Jared Rosholt defeated Josh Copeland via TKO (Round 3, 3:12)

Preliminary Bouts (Live on UFC Fight Pass, 7:00 PM ET)
Ryan Benoit defeated Sergio Pettis via TKO (Round 2, 1:34)
Joseph Duffey defeated Jake Lindsey via TKO (Round 1, 1:47)
Germaine de Randamie defeated Larissa Pacheco via TKO (Round 2, 2:02)

Follow on Social Media
The following two tabs change content below.
Eric Kowal

Eric Kowal

Owner/Editor/Journalist at MyMMANews
Founder of - After writing for Ultimate MMA magazine and serving as the editor for U.S. Combat Sports, both of which went on hiatus, I decided to venture out on my own and enlist a staff of writers and photographers that could help me achieve my goal of telling stories that would otherwise go untold. We pride ourselves in taking a deeper look into the fighter, and understanding what makes them tick. - #1 Dad, Marine Corps Veteran, 80's and 90's Pro Wrestling Fan, MMA Commentator, Beer Lover, and avid movie watcher. Seriously..... I watch a lot of movies.

Recent posts