You are here
Demetrious Johnson breaks all-time UFC title defense record MMA News 

Demetrious Johnson breaks all-time UFC title defense record

History was made tonight at UFC 216 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  Reigning, defending UFC flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson is now the holder of the UFC’s all-time title defense record. Johnson submitted Borg in the fifth and final round with an armbar after a dominating performance for more than 22 minutes.

With a win over Ray Borg tonight at the T-Mobile Arena, Johnson surpassed former middleweight champion Anderson Silva to atop the list all along.  Johnson and Silva were tied at 10 consecutive title defenses in a row. Tonight’s win for Johnson was his 11th straight title defense.

Johnson is the first and only flyweight champion in UFC history.  He won the title against Joseph Benavidez at UFC 152 in September 2012.  He has now held the title for more than five years.

His title reign of 1,841 days (as of today) is fourth longest in UFC history behind Silva (2,457), Georges St-Pierre (2,064) and Jose Aldo (1,848).

Johnson holds a second win over Benavidez which was one of the previous ten defenses. He also has two successful defenses over John Dodson.  Also on his victim list, John Moraga, Ali Bagautinov, Chris Cariaso, Kyoji Horiguchi, Henry Cejudo, Tim Elliott, and Wilson Reis.

He’s one of six fighters in UFC history to earn a 10-fight winning streak. Silva, St-Pierre, Jones, Royce Gracie and Max Holloway also accomplished the feat.

Johnson is currently ranked as the number one pound-for-pound fighter on the planet.

The following two tabs change content below.
Eric Kowal

Eric Kowal

Owner/Editor/Journalist at MyMMANews
Founder of - After writing for Ultimate MMA magazine and serving as the editor for U.S. Combat Sports, both of which went on hiatus, I decided to venture out on my own and enlist a staff of writers and photographers that could help me achieve my goal of telling stories that would otherwise go untold. We pride ourselves in taking a deeper look into the fighter, and understanding what makes them tick. - #1 Dad, Marine Corps Veteran, 80's and 90's Pro Wrestling Fan, MMA Commentator, Beer Lover, and avid movie watcher. Seriously..... I watch a lot of movies.

Recent posts