You are here
CSAC says Tito Ortiz will not be punished for choking Chael Sonnen after tap MMA News 

CSAC says Tito Ortiz will not be punished for choking Chael Sonnen after tap

CSAC says Tito Ortiz will not be punished for choking Chael Sonnen after tap

CSAC says Tito Ortiz will not be punished for choking Chael Sonnen after tap

This past Saturday night in the main event at Bellator 170, Tito Ortiz submitted Chael Sonnen via rear-naked choke in the first round.  After the tap referee Big John McCarthy signaled that the fight was over, however Ortiz did not let go of the hold.

McCarthy had to force Ortiz off by applying pressure to his throat area.

Ortiz later admitted that he knew he held on to the choke after the fight was to be stopped. The question then remained, ‘Would Ortiz be punished?’

On Monday, Andy Foster, Executive Director of the California State Athletic Commission, said that the CSAC won’t be looking to reprimand Ortiz for his actions at Bellator 170.

“We are not looking to,” Foster told MMA Fighting’s Ariel Helwani. “Referee John McCarthy fixed that situation quickly. John got him to to release the choke. If a referee wants a fighter punished for conduct, they will come and we will discuss it. That did not happen.”

Follow MyMMANews.com on Social Media
The following two tabs change content below.
Eric Kowal

Eric Kowal

Owner/Editor/Journalist at MyMMANews
Founder of MyMMANews.com - After writing for Ultimate MMA magazine and serving as the editor for U.S. Combat Sports, both of which went on hiatus, I decided to venture out on my own and enlist a staff of writers and photographers that could help me achieve my goal of telling stories that would otherwise go untold. We pride ourselves in taking a deeper look into the fighter, and understanding what makes them tick. - #1 Dad, Marine Corps Veteran, 80's and 90's Pro Wrestling Fan, MMA Commentator, Beer Lover, and avid movie watcher. Seriously..... I watch a lot of movies.

Recent posts