Marshawn Lynch

Courtesy: Karate Combat

Marshawn Lynch Will be Kickin It With Bas Rutten on Karate Combat

Karate Combat will be returning at the end of September and to help kick off the season, Bas Rutten will be joined by NFL Running Back, Marshawn Lynch to call the action when the new season begins. With a new broadcast deal with beIN Sports in place, an announcement from Karate Combat said that Lynch will join “El Guapo” [Rutten] in the first three episodes of the 12 week season when they begin.

The timing is perfect as football is returning and Lynch, a Superbowl champion and avid lover of combat sports and video games should make for some commentary when Karate Combat returns. “I’ll be kickin’ it with Bas,” said Lynch of working with Karate Combat. He and Rutten will be, “Watching guys get knocked out doing all types of crazy moves in wild ass Indiana Jones-type settings. It’s hella dope.”

The full-contact karate promotion has become known for delivering action with their unique set of rules that keeps the competition focused on the striking aspects of various karate disciplines, but allows competitors to utilize the takedowns as well for their respective karate background. Usually, when the term “karate” is mentioned, casual fans are not aware that there are various forms of karate. 

For example, Bas Rutten has a background in Kyokushin karate and Karate Combat competitors like Jonas Correia have a Shotokan karate background. On top of bringing these karate styles together in competition, the presentation of the new season will keep with the unique background settings Karate Combat fans have gotten used to seeing in the past. The comparison has been made to video games, something Lynch also has some experience in as a player and as a character in Call of Duty: Black Ops III.

Karate Combat’s new season will air on Sunday nights at karate.com starting on September 27th at 7 p.m. EST / 4 p.m. PST Each fight will also debut on Thursdays in the U.S. and Canada at 10 p.m. EST / 7 p.m. PST on beIN SPORTS XTRA and on Saturdays around the globe on beIN SPORTS at 11 p.m. EST / 8 p.m. PST.

Do Not Sell My Personal Information