NCAA Wrestling: Coaches’ Panel Wrestling Rankings Released – 157lbs Weight Class

imageedit_36_2383904729The Division-1 college wrestling coaches’ panel rankings have been released. The Big Ten claims five of the top Ten No. 1 ranked wrestlers in the nation. Five of the ten No. 1 wrestlers in the nation are former national champions. Nathan Tomasello of Ohio State (125 pounds), Isaiah Martinez of Illinois (157), Alex Dieringer of Oklahoma State (165), Gabriel Dean of Cornell (184) and Nick Gwiazdowski of North Carolina State (heavyweight).

The additional top-ranked wrestlers at each weight class in the inaugural rankings are: Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (133 pounds); Dean Heil, Oklahoma State (141); Zain Retherford, Penn State (149); Bo Nickal, Penn State (174) and Morgan McIntosh, Penn State (197).

Wrestlers in each weight class will be measured by winning percentage, rating percentage index (RPI) and coaches’ rankings to earn spots in their qualifying tournaments for the 2016 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. The coaches’ rankings are compiled by a vote of coaches representing each qualifying tournament. For ranking purposes, coaches may only consider a wrestler that has been designated as a starter at a respective weight class. In order to be eligible for the rankings, wrestlers must have participated in at least five matches against Division I opponents in the weight class and have wrestled within the last 30 days.

The first of four coaches’ panel rankings for the 2015-16 wrestling season were released Thursday out of Indianapolis. The final rankings will be one of the components used as part of the selection process to determine the qualifiers for the 2016 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. This year’s event is March 17-19 at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

Isaiah Martinez of Illinois is the defending national champion. He is the first freshmen to go undefeated and win a national title since Penn State’s head coach Cael Sanderson did it.

Rankings are through matches of Jan. 17th, 2016.

157 1 Isaiah Martinez Illinois Big Ten
157 2 Ian Miller Kent St. MAC
157 2 Jason Nolf Penn St. Big Ten
157 4 Thomas Gantt North Carolina St. ACC
157 5 Joseph Smith Oklahoma St. Big 12
157 6 Cody Pack South Dakota St. Big 12
157 7 Mitch Minotti Lehigh EIWA
157 8 Brian Murphy Michigan Big Ten
157 9 John Boyle American EIWA
157 10 Luke Smith Central Mich. MAC
157 11 Richie Lewis Rutgers Big Ten
157 12 Jake Ryan Ohio St. Big Ten
157 13 Chad Walsh Rider EWL
157 14 Dylan Cottrell West Virginia Big 12
157 15 Tyler Berger Nebraska Big Ten
157 16 Russell Parsons Army EIWA
157 17 Gregory Flournoy George Mason EWL
157 18 Louis Mascola Maryland Big Ten
157 19 Bryce Steiert UNI MAC
157 20 Markus Scheidel Columbia EIWA
157 21 Justin Staudenmayer Brown EIWA
157 22 Andrew Atkinson Virginia ACC
157 23 Edwin Cooper, Jr. Iowa Big Ten
157 24 Kamaal Shakur Chattanooga SoCon
157 25 May Bethea Penn EIWA
157 26 Spartak Chino Ohio MAC
157 27 Aaron Walker The Citadel SoCon
157 28 Doug Welch Purdue Big Ten
157 29 Brandon Kingsley Minnesota Big Ten
157 29 LeRoy Barnes Missouri MAC
157 29 Archie Colgan Wyoming Big 12
157 32 Gene `Oliver` Pierce Arizona St. Pac 12
157 33 Eleazar De Luca Northern Colo. Big 12
author avatar
Kyle Carroll
Kyle Carroll is a Long Island, N.Y. native and avid MMA and amateur wrestling fan. He has been a part of the wrestling community for nearly 20 years. Carroll has six years of experience coaching high school wrestling. His father coached high school wrestling over 35 years, passing on his strong knowledge. Carroll has been reporting MMA news since January 2011. The former wrestler’s coverage includes the 2012 U.S. Olympic Wrestling Team Trials, 2013 & 2016 NCAA D1 Wrestling Championship, and numerous MMA events (Bellator MMA, King of the Cage, North American Fighting Championship, and Glory).