Paulie Malignaggi

Paulie Malignaggi says he got a bad decision from ‘bush league judges’

In the main event of BKFC 6, Paulie Malignaggi and Artem Lobov were finally set to settle their differences. The two have had a feud going on since Conor McGregor sparred with the boxer ahead of his fight against Floyd Mayweather.

Ultimately, Lobov did enough during the fight to win on the judge’s scorecards, but Malignaggi believes he was robbed.

“I pretty much got the worst of everything because I got a shit decision and I made a tic-tac-toe board out of his face with my left hand,” Malignaggi said at the post-fight press conference. “Look at my face, I got hit literally in one clinch. In one clinch, I got hit and that’s it. I took a couple of shots in that one clinch that he got me, I thought I did a pretty good job in clinches other than that, and really nothing else landed. I was very comfortable boxing.

“Luckily, I have experience fighting with one hand from earlier in my career, breaking my right hand so many times, so even when my right hand was gone I thought I boxed very well in three, four, and five. He got me in the clinch in three, but other than that I thought four and five—I mean five he didn’t land at all. I was popping him with jabs and check left hooks constantly. You want to give him four, I don’t think you can, but I guess if they want to give it to him.”

Malignaggi continued on a tirade about the judging say they didn’t know what to look for. Rather, they were just seeing who had the most blood and that person lost the round. Not judging the boxing, which Malignaggi says he easily won.

“Ironically, the judges gave me the first two rounds and then after three they didn’t give me a round. Again, bush league shit, because I got cut in round three. Once the bush league shit came in they literally only scored my blood. The same shit was happening, he was getting out-boxed very easily, but now I was cut.

“And clearly the bush league judges scored the blood and not the actual fight or what was happening, because realistically nothing else happened aside from that clinch where he definitely got me with some good shots.”